New Education Policy 2020: 12 Highlights for Schools and Higher Education Institutions

Published Date

The National Education Policy or NEP that has been approved by the Union Cabinet will replace the 34 year old National Policy in Education. Another offshoot of the NEP is that we will no longer be talking about the MHRD or the Ministry of Human Resource Development. The ministry will get a more succinct and apt name and will be known as the Education Ministry.

Here are 15 highlights of the new NEP

#1 A 5+3+3+4 system:

The first 5 refers to preschool, nursery, prep, class 1 and class 2. Then classes 3 to 5 standard. Then mid school which is from class 6 to class 8. And then the final 4 years in school includes class 9 to 12.

This structure is being standardised mostly because some government schools had children joining into formal education only at the age of 6 years unlike private schools. Therefore 3 years of Anganwadis or pre-schooling, attached to primary schools or standalone, would be added to the 12 years of school.

#2 Teaching in regional language up to class 5:

According to the NEP medium of instruction must be in mother tongue or regional language.  Though the Minister of Education has mentioned “where possible”.

#3 Exams in Grade 3. 5, 8:

Students will sit for exams in these years conducted by a proper authority. The existing exams in Class 10 and 12 will continue with some changes. They will no longer have emphasis on memorisation but will test core competencies.

#4  A focus on vocational training in school:

Every child will undergo at least one vocational training between class 6 to 8. The vocational training will be offered in carpentry, electric work, gardening etc. There will be 10 day ‘bagless’ period where students will intern with vocational experts. Online mode will also be incorporated for delivering vocational courses. This will help more students finish schooling with a employable skill.

#5 No Science-commerce-arts streams:

Students will be able to choose subjects from any stream during their 11th and 12th. This means that a student could study accountancy as well as physics at the same time.

#6 Common Entrance Exams:

Students will sit for common competitive exams set by NTA (National Testing Agency) for admissions to universities. Though this might be optional. The NTA alr